5 Fandom Friday: Fictional Characters I Identify With

I think the best part about being a fiction lover is finding a character that resonates with you on a molecular level. I’m pretty sure I’ve talked about all of these characters at one time or another, but my personality is a blend of all of them & it’s kind of like they’re a part of me. Without further ado:

5 Fictional Characters I Identify With

1. Zoe (Fanboys)

Equal parts nerdy and crass, Zoe is basically me. My nerd culture knowledge is probably a few lightyears behind hers, but I might be able to out-crass her, so I think it evens out in the end. She surrounds herself by nerdy boys all day long and acts as kind of a den mother to them. That is definitely an experience I can relate to.

2. Cisco Ramon (Flash)

Aside from the fact that I consider myself merely of  average intellect, everything else about Cisco’s personality resonates with me. He is quirky and loyal and unapologetically himself.  He isn’t afraid to show his excitement over anything and frequently geeks out in the most hardcore ways. He is just a joyful person, which is something I absolutely strive to be.

3. Bianca Piper (The DUFF)

I haven’t seen the movie, so I’m not sure this all applies to Mae Whitman’s portrayal of the character, but I see Book Bianca as snarky and intelligent, albeit slightly cynical. While I realize I’m being contradictory by identifying with the joyfulness of Cisco Ramon and the cynicism of Bianca Piper, isn’t that what humans are? Walking contradictions? There are days when I just FEEL like Bianca. Insecurities and general grump-itude. Nothing a little sex therapy can’t take care of though, #amiright?

4. Jess (New Girl)

I’m actually SUPER behind on New Girl, but this still holds true. Jess is quirky af. No denying it. She’s super passionate about a lot of things, but especially about her friends/family. Sometimes they look at her like she has two heads, but they love her back, and just as fiercely. THAT is something that hits me way down deep. Sometimes I’m talking to my husband or my mom or my best friend & I can see their eyes start to glaze over. It doesn’t mean they don’t love me, it just means they’re overwhelmed by my extreme passion for that particular subject matter. Which is basically all subject matter.

5. Charlie Bradbury (Supernatural)

A nerdy badass with a taste for adventure. I just ADORE Charlie, and have since her very first appearance on the show.  *NO SPOILERS, PLEASE* because I’m way far behind on Supernatural right now, too. But Charlie’s character development over the last few years has been one of my favorite things to watch. She’s constantly exploring and learning new things about herself to become the person she’s always dreamed of being. Even if it’s a risk & could potentially backfire. Plus, Felicia Day, so…

Honorable Mention: Nora (The New Guy)

This was one of my favorite movies when it first came out & there’s just something about Nora that has been so relatable. Maybe it’s just the fact that Zooey Deschanel is super relatable to me, but idk. She plays bass & is a hardcore feminist & not afraid to speak her mind. I love her.

Clearly I identify most with quirky-yet-social types, because that’s just me. If someone’s willing to put up with my weird, we’ll be just fine.

How about you? Check out the twitter tags for 5 Fandom Friday (#fandom5 & #5fandomfriday) to see what everyone else thinks!

Until Next Time ❤

4 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday: Fictional Characters I Identify With

  1. mithrril says:

    I haven’t seen enough Charlie episodes to say that I relate to her as I’m super behind. But I liked the episode I did see her in and I’m a huge Felicia Day fan, so good pick!

    Like

Leave a Reply

