Book/Comic Haul: Jan-April 2015

I don’t feel like I buy or receive enough books to do a monthly book haul. Most of the books I read I end up getting from the library. I definitely envy those of you with beautiful bookshelves lined with hard copies of your favorite books. I’ll get there some day. My collection will just take a little longer to amass.

I did get quite a few new books (and comics!) over the course of the last 4 months, though. So I thought I’d share my haul for the whole of January-April 2015!

BOOKS

IMG_2235

First up, this GORGEOUS edition of Neverending Story that my mom got me for my birthday! I’m so obsessed with it I almost don’t want to read it for fear of ruining it. I don’t think that will stop me in the long-run, though. I’ll just be suuuuuper careful.

The other two, I bought for myself – which I almost NEVER do, so yay! I picked up Throne of Glass and The Alchemist 25th Anniversary Edition on a trip to Barnes & Noble with my mom. I’m so, so excited to start reading Throne of Glass, since everybody and their mother is obsessed with it – I really just want to join that party. And this edition of The Alchemist is freaking gorgeous  with the cutout on the front cover & the deckle edge. I was too in love with the way it looks to pass it up. Plus, it’s on my Popsugar 2015 Reading List as a book that was published in the year of my birth. So, win-win!

Also, every single one of these fandom items has been acquired since December of last year, so I thought I’d throw them in the photo, too. You might think my Luna Lovegood wand is my favorite, but it’s actually Mr. Pointy. How many people do you know with a Mr. Pointy??

IMG_2226

Apparently I completely forgot about this as I was photographing my other books, but I picked up this copy of Fairest of All when we were at Disney World. I was really surprised when I took the dust jacket off to see the old hag underneath. I might leave the jacket off because I love it so much. I will admit that I was a little disappointed because we went to another shop immediately after I bought this & I found The Beast Within, which the first shop didn’t carry. I probably would have rather had that one, but I can always pick it up later 🙂

E-BOOKS

Oh! Let’s not forget about e-books! I do stock up on Kindle books pretty frequently, thanks to the Pixel of Ink newsletter! Yeah, ok. I didn’t realize how many e-books I get until I started compiling this list. Here’s everything I’ve added to my Kindle since January, in chronological order.

  1. Interview With the Vampire by Anne Rice
  2. Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  3. Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay
  4. The Memory Game by Sharon Sant
  5. Someone Else’s Fairytale by E.M. Tippetts
  6. The Forever Girl by Rebecca Hamilton
  7. White Oleander by Janet Fitch
  8. High Fidelity by Nick Hornby
  9. A Brush with the Moon by Raquel Lyon
  10. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  11. Insanity (Mad in Wonderland) by Cameron Jace
  12. Imperfectly Perfect by A.E. Woodward
  13. Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer
  14. Wearing the Cape: The Beginning by Marion G. Harmon
  15. Riser by Becca C. Smith
  16. Queenie Baby: On Assignment by Christina A. Burke
  17. Modern Women by Ruth Harris
  18. Vampire in Denial by Dale Mayer
  19. Beastly by Alex Flinn
  20. Witch Hunt by Devin O’Branagan
  21. The Vampire Hunter’s Daughter by Jennifer Malone Wright
  22. Cress (Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer
  23. Sora’s Quest by T.L. Shreffler
  24. The DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) by Kody Keplinger
  25. Me and my Ghoulfriends by Rose Pressey
  26. Night of the Living Trekkies by Kevin David Anderson
  27. Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft by Jody Gehrman
  28. The Diviners by Libba Bray
  29. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  30. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  31. The Scorch Trials by James Dashner
  32. Lost Girl:Hidden Book One by Colleen Vanderlinden
  33. Airel: The Awakening by Aaron Patterson

PLUS, I signed up for Kindle Unlimited & added all the Harry Potter books to my library ❤ So, as far as new reading material goes, I’m not exactly hurting… Ha.

COMICS

IMG_2231

Moving into comics, I’ve got the 4 issues of Vision and the Scarlet Witch (1982) that I picked up at Newbo Con in February, plus the Vision and the Scarlet Witch: A Year In The Life that my brother-in-law got for my birthday. And then, of course, the Avengers 100th Anniversary Special #1.

To be honest, I haven’t read any of these yet. But I will. I promise!

IMG_2229

So I read the first 4 volumes of Saga in trade from my library and then made sure to get it on my pull list at the comic book shop. I actually ended up with 2 copies of issue 25 because mine was back-ordered & I couldn’t wait – so I ordered one from eBay.  Totally worth it, though. I’m so in love with this series. I just read issue 27 last week and, while it slowed things down a LOT from the previous issues, I do think it’s a necessary lull & I still love it.  I’m not even gonna get into it, because I could write an epic saga about my love for Saga. And that’d just be saga-ception. Which sounds dangerous. (I fangirl so hard over Fiona Staples)

IMG_2230

I have heard incredible things about The Wicked + The Divine, so I ordered the first trade & put it on my pull list. I haven’t started reading the trade yet, but I did thumb through & slobber over the artwork by Jamie McKelvie & Matt Wilson.  I don’t think I’m going to start reading until I get my hands on issues 6-8, so I can just binge read the whole thing in one sitting. 🙂

IMG_2233

Last, but most CERTAINLY not least, is my itsy bitsy Spider Gwen collection (ha. I’m funny). Right now I have the Edge of Spiderverse collection and Spider Gwen #1 & #3. I’ve been waiting for issue 2 for what feels like FOREVER. But once it comes in, it is GAME ON for me and this series. I actually read the first Spider-Verse issue – the Spider Noir one, and I really enjoyed it. That was officially my first “Superhero Comic” that I’ve ever read. eek! I know. I’m a total newb. Oh well, can’t stay that way forever!


So, there you have it. That’s my entire comic collection, plus every book I’ve acquired between January & April. I’m actually already off to a good start on Books for May – maybe I’ll end up with enough to justify a May Book Haul – that would be just lovely 🙂

How about that list of Kindle Reads, though? Anything in there that I should definitely pay attention to? I’m reading Ready Player One right now, but there’s a lot of good stuff floating on my Kindle that I had completely forgotten about!

Until Next Time ❤

5 thoughts on “Book/Comic Haul: Jan-April 2015

  1. laurenlola says:

    Where are in RPO? I started reading it yesterday and so far it’s really enjoyable. Also, in regards to expanding your Kindle list, not to toot my own horn but, you know, there’s always my book that you can read. 😉

    Like

    • #obsessivegirlfan says:

      I’m only on page 43. I’ve been having a hard time finding time to read it, but I’m really liking it so far. It’s much darker than I was expecting.
      Also, your book is already on my TBR, just not on my kindle yet 😉

      Like

      • laurenlola says:

        Yeah, it caught me off guard too when I realized how dark the context was, but other than that, it’s pretty cool.

        And thanks for adding my book to your TBR list. That means a lot to hear that. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

