[2] Obsessive Wednesdays: Gettin’ Girly

This week, my obsessions have been slightly less nerdy (although, let’s be real – they’re always at least a *little* nerdy…this is me we’re talking about ) and a bit more girly.  I haven’t spent a ton of time talking about my girlish obsessions on here, so I thought I’d share some with you today – you know, make this thing a bit more well-rounded. Or something. Anywho.

BOOKS

Need you even ask? Yes. The Heir was released yesterday & I’m about 7 chapters in. I only had a brief window to spend reading last night, but so far I’m enjoying the story. The world of Illea has changed drastically since the end of The One, which it obviously needed to do. I’m impressed by all the care Kiera Cass has taken with this story. I’m itching to read more.

The-Heir_612x925

The Epic Coin Toss

Once I’ve finished The Heir, I’m going to have an epic coin toss to determine what I read next. My contenders are:

vs

Ready Player One vs. Throne of Glass

I know I’m going to love them both, but I just can’t decide where to go & I’ve been waffling over it for like a month now. It’s time to just leave things up to fate. Anybody wanna place bets? 🙂

YOUTUBE

Lauren Bradley Cox. This girl is absolutely adorable & she’s living my hair dreams. I’m going to try out the toners she used to get that perfect white/grey tone to her hair, just as soon as I can get my hands on them. Also, her makeup is super flawless in all of her photos.

TUMBLR

I’ve got 2 new favorite Tumblr blogs that I continuously stalk (it’s not creepy, OK?)

towritecomicsonherarms

I mean, oodles of comic-y goodness + that beard? No complaints from me.

twoabtheworldofabookworm

She’s a total sweetheart, super adorable, & posts some of the absolute best bookish eye candy.

Also, I am slacking on my Book Balancing Challenge. I need to get on that. It’s gonna be hilarious, seeing as my ability to even balance myself on my own two feet is oftentimes brought into question.

TV

This season of The Vampire Diaries has been super good, you guys. I’m so in love with what they’ve done for the character development. Everyone is struggling with their own crap & the converging storylines are getting really complex. I love it. I’ve been a TVD fan for years, but last season just really didn’t do much for me. I’m glad things are back on an upswing for Nina Dobrev’s exit from the series.

 

BEAUTY

BOXYCHARM. Oh. My. God. I’m in love with Boxycharm. I’ve done beauty subscription boxes for about a year now, and I’ve tried Birchbox, Ipsy, and now Boxycharm. I’m so much happier with Boxy than I ever was with Birchbox or Ipsy. I don’t even mind the extra $20 expense because the products are worth SO much more & I actually get enough product in my samples to form a solid opinion on the product, instead of a one-time use thing. Last month, we got the Coastal Scents Revealed2 Palette, which is essentially a dupe for Urban Decay’s Naked 2. I’ve been wanting to order this Revealed palette for a while, ever since I started using Coastal Scents products, so I was FREAKING out when I opened my April box. I also received the Harvey Prince fragrance “Hello”, and I’m in love with it. It’s sweet but still a little floraly, which is right up my alley. Anywho, I could probably do a whole post on how much I love Boxycharm & I think anyone at ALL interested in beauty/ cosmetics should give it a shot for $20/month.

STYLE

This photo shoot of Dascha Polanco for Latina Magazine has me slobbering since I saw the first images yesterday. The hair, the makeup, her body in those outfits. There’s no other way to descibe how I feel about this than: OBSESSED. I haven’t read the interview yet, but I have seen a few quote blocks that people have pulled from it to post with photos & she seems like an incredibly down-to-earth person who has dealt with her fair share of bullshit from life. I’m really interested to read the whole thing.

 

 

 

 

 RANDOM

Buzzfeed. Guys, I can’t stop with the Buzzfeed. I’m not sure when this obsession started, but it’s getting out of hand. It’s probably the reason I didn’t get my 2nd post up yesterday like I promised – I was taking too many Buzzfeed quizzes. That shit’s like a drug. Things like these totally awesome “choose-your-own-adventure” style quizzes about REALLY important topics:

Could You Survive One Day As A Superhero?

Superheroes make it look so easy, but the smallest misstep can lead to their demise. See if you can make the right choices to survive one day walking in a superhero’s shoes.

Could You Survive One Day As A Superhero?

 

OR…

Can You Become a Pokemon Master?

Good morning! Today is your first day as a Pokémon trainer. It’s always been your dream to enter the Pokémon League, defeat the Elite Four, and be a Pokémon Master. And now you finally have the chance!

Spoiler alert: It has been determined by these incredibly scientific exams that I could successfully be a superhero for a day AND become a Pokemon master. I’m gonna rule the freaking world someday. With my level 112 Nidoqueen.


 

Until Next Time ❤

PS – my big *WOMP WOMP* for the day is that I didn’t prep anything for Flash Fic Wednesday, but that doesn’t mean you can’t check out what other people are writing by following #flashficwed

2 thoughts on “[2] Obsessive Wednesdays: Gettin’ Girly

Leave a Reply

