Building My First Capsule Wardrobe

I’ve been reading a lot about capsule wardrobes lately. I feel like my closet is out of control – I’m constantly wearing the same outfit yet buried in laundry up to my eyeballs. It’s time to pare things down & simplify my life.  Luckily, I’ve made this decision around the half-way point of my 80-lb weight-loss adventure (which I can share in greater detail, if anyone has interest), so it’s not gonna be too hard to ditch my clothes that are 3-4 sizes too big for me these days. It’s definitely time.

First thing’s first. What is a capsule wardrobe? Well, essentially it’s a wardrobe containing a specific number of pieces (generally between 35-40) that are easily mixed & matched to create versatile outfits and are all things that you completely love to wear. You will end up with 4 capsule wardrobes per year, since you obviously want to be sure you have season-appropriate clothing. You’ll create the upcoming season’s wardrobe during the final weeks of the current season and then you WILL NOT go shopping for the duration of the season.  Blogger UnFancy is the master of the capsule wardrobe and has TONS of information on her blog to help you build your own. Here’s what she’s been wearing this winter:

WINTER-CAP

I love how curated it feels. I could think of 100 outfits to pull together with these items.  When you hear 35-40 pieces, it’s kind of shocking at first. It doesn’t seem like very many clothes, which is really the whole point. When you have a wardrobe that is specifically planned to allow mixing & matching and is comprised of pieces you adore, it is much easier to pull your outfits together in the mornings. It takes less time to wash all your clothes. It prevents you from impulse buying throughout the season. It helps to simplify your entire life. And that, my friends, is why this is so appealing to me.

So, I’m starting to plan out my wardrobe for Spring (April-June) and have found some pieces I think would work really well with my style & be really versatile within the capsule wardrobe. I maybe picked a difficult season for me to start with, since this Spring will bring a lot of unique events that I need to account for – family vacation to Disney World & Universal Studios Orlando, My 27th birthday, AND my 2nd wedding anniversary! That’s a wide range of styles I’m going to need to account for, on top of my regular work & casual wardrobes. Here’s the direction I’m heading so far:

 

#ogf's Spring 2015 Capsule Wardrobe

So, for my first stab, I’d say I’m heading in a really good direction. It’s a nice blend of comfy casual and business-casual. I think there’s still some work to be done, but I’ll get there. I really wanted more navy for spring, so I’m probably going to swap out some pieces. The items with hearts over them are the ones I’m completely obsessed with & will more than likely purchase for spring (assuming they are not sold out by then!). This wardrobe consists of 10 items I already own, and once I go through my closet this weekend, I will probably replace some items here with items I already own. I’d like to pare it down so I don’t buy more than 20 items. I realize this season will be a higher-spend season, but hopefully that makes future seasons much more financially responsible. Like I said, this season has a lot of special events, plus my recent weight-loss, so I feel comfortable spending more than average to make sure I’m appropriately dressed at all times 🙂

What do you think of this concept? Would you ever try it? I’d love to hear from you!

 

Until Next Time ❤

OGF Signature

One thought on “Building My First Capsule Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

