Newbs.

Well, here it is. A blog 26 years in the making.

I’ll be honest – I have no idea what I want to write about. I am only just beginning to accept my own idiosyncrasies, as I have spent much of my life doing and being what is expected of me or what might please others. I’m not here for pity; this is meant to be an outlet of self-discovery. How deep, huh? Everything I write sounds cheesy and ridiculous. Guess that’s why they say that writing is a skill to be finely honed over time? That could be total bullshit, but I guess we’ll know soon enough.

So, I guess I’ll just get into it.

I’m calling myself the Obsessive Girl Fan because that’s the best way I can describe myself. I’m a fan. Of life, literature, film, art, you name it. I’m a fan. Yet, I’m not certain I would call myself a FANGIRL. I have no qualms with the term or people who identify with the term; I simply don’t identify with it myself. I feel like a person needs to have a near-encyclopedic knowledge of a topic or subculture before justifiably being labeled a Fangirl/boy. In no way do I have this level of knowledge about anything. Thus, why I identify as a girl fan. Hooray, semantics! Maybe someday I’ll get to full-on fangirl status.

A little about me:

I’m a 26-year-old wife and mother born and raised in Iowa.  Before we get too far, no. I do not live on a farm & I know literally nothing about agriculture. There are cities here. I live in one. Got it? Good.

As mentioned before, I have a pretty diverse list of interests & hobbies, but my most current obsessions include: reading, Gilmore Girls, makeup, YouTube, and comic conventions (though I’ve only been to two). I bought my first comics this weekend & I have a feeling it’s going to become a regular deal. It helps that my brother-in-law works at a comic book shop… he’s an enabler.

I’m really excited to finally have this creative space I’ve been craving for so long & I hope it helps me connect with some of you out there who share my interests!

Until next time ❤

[#ogf]

One thought on “Newbs.

Leave a Reply

